South Australian Sidecars 1 & 3 In Mildura Sidecar Spectacular

South Australian riders finished first and third in the prestigious Mildura Sidecar Spectacular on Saturday night.

The event, the longest running, non-Championship event in Speedway Sidecar racing, was won by Mick Headland and Paul Waters, who were unbeaten on the night.

Finishing in third place, in one of their best results were Damian Niesche and Mitch Spear. They finished as the second highest scorers in the same group as Headland, then second again to Headland, but ahead of Byren Gates/Mick O’Loughlin and Clint Mayes/Andrew Summerhayes in their semi-final before finishing third behind Headland/Waters and Darrin Treloar/Simon Cohrs in the final.

Victorian Champions Warren Monson and Matt Morgan finished fourth.

K Trans Australian Sidecar Championship News
Bad news for fans of the Prince of Port Adelaide, Ron Parker. The popular Adelaide rider, who finished fourth in the Championship in 2007, and fifth in 2008, has withdrawn from this season’s Championship.

Parker crashed at the last Gillman meeting and the bike nosed-dived onto his leg. Although, fortunately, nothing is broken he says he doesn’t want to leave it until the last minute to see if he is fit enough to ride and possibly deprive someone else of a chance so he has made the early call. New South Wales rider Shane Hudson will take his place in the Qualifying meeting on 30 March.

Meanwhile, Parker will maintain an interest by putting Division 2 rider Aaron Silvy on his bike for this Saturday night’s Gillman meeting.

Full details of the meeting, Round 5 of the Ikon Suspension Sidecar Grand Slam, will be on the Gillman Speedway website later today (11 March).

The start of the crash which has put Ron Parker and Shane Rudloff out for the rest of the season. Photo by