Injuries decimate championship qualifying meeting

A spate of injuries has forced the Motorcycling Australia Speedway Commission to cancel the qualifying meeting scheduled for Gillman Speedway in Adelaide on Friday, 2 January.

From an original list of 24 nominations for the 2015 Australian Solo Championship series, injuries had reduced the list to 19 by today and the Commission had no choice but to cancel the Qualifying meeting and select 16 riders to contest the championship rounds.

The line-up for the four rounds, commencing at Gillman on Saturday, 3 January is now:

Jake Allen (Qld), Josh Coyne (Qld), Jason Doyle (NSW), Jack Fallon (Vic), Max Fricke (Vic), Josh Grajczonek (Qld), Chris Holder (NSW), Jack Holder (NSW), Sam Masters (NSW), Tyson Nelson (Qld), Dakota North (Vic), Joey Ringwood (NSW), Justin Sedgmen (Vic), Kieran Sproule (NSW), Rohan Tungate (NSW), Brodie Waters (Vic). Reserves: Jordan Stewart (Vic), Cooper Riordan (Vic), Brady Webb (WA).

Gillman Speedway will still open on Friday, 2 January and will run a practice night for the championship riders, along with the originally scheduled 125cc races. Gates will open at 3pm, practice will begin at 7.30pm, admission will be free, and the bar and canteen will be open.

There will be no practice on the Saturday night.